I need help with ripping and burning an HDCD so that the CD-R has the HDCD encoding intact

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Platterpus, Jun 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Platterpus

Platterpus Senior Member Thread Starter

Hi,

I do not have an HDCD decoding CD player but I want to hear one of my HDCD's with the encoded info and burn it that way to a CD-R so I can play it back on a regular CD player with the HDCD encoding intact.

I played and ripped the HDCD with windows media player and it has the HDCD logo during playback but I want to make a CD-R of my own with the HDCD decoded so I can hear the music as it was intended during the mastering.

I did notice the difference in playback on the computer but I want to burn it to a CD-R for playback on my stereo.

What programs and other addons do I need to accomplish this? I'm not very technical when it comes to this so just keep that in mind.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Anthony

2. Davey

Davey NP: Hania Rani/Dobrawa Czocher ~ Inner Symphonies

You can't really do exactly what you want. The HDCD decoders typically increase the bit depth from 16-bits to 20-bits or 24-bits, which can't be stored on an normal audio CD-R, but you could use dither to convert that 24-bit file back to 16-bit to put on the CD-R, and maybe capture most of the added HDCD magic, if there is any. Whether anything is really gained in the end is up to you, but you could try it with one of your discs. It could all be done pretty easily in foobar with the HDCD plugin, but there would be a learning curve. If you aren't very technical, it might be too steep of a learning curve with foobar. Other solutions would probably involve multiple software packages.

Might be time to investigate ways to connect your computer to your stereo.

katstep, patient_ot and Platterpus like this.
  3. Platterpus