I'm about to receive my new cartridge and...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Hail Vinyl!, Aug 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hail Vinyl!

Hail Vinyl! Forum Resident Thread Starter

...the install job has always been a true hassle to me. But I'm willing to do it. The thing is, I'm not very good at manipulating really small things, in this case stuff like connecting the terminals and getting the screws into those tiny nuts. Well, I know I can do it, but I don't trust my own neatness doing it. Maybe connections won't be secure enough, maybe cables will be a mess... but again, I want to have the satisfaction of doing it myself, and doing it well. That's why I appreciate any advice you may have to make sure everything will be correctly made during the installation process. Thank you in advance! :)

2. Ash76

Ash76 Wait actually yeah no

Can't help you other than to say I'm in the same boat. My cartridge arrived today and now I've ordered some alignment tools such as an MFSL Geo-Disk and a tracking force gauge. Just not sure if I trust my fat fingers and poor eyesight.

3. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

Take your time, use appropriately sized tools, don't force anything, and stay away from the cantilever! Use an appropriate alignment protractor to align your cartridge. Two very good ones, which are very easy to use can be found for free here: http://www.uptownaudio.com/Hi-Fi/Tools/phono.htm
    -Bill

chervokas likes this.
  4. quadjoe

quadjoe Senior Member

Good advice. I'd just like to add one thing: the OP didn't say what cartridge he was getting, so, if it's a MC cartridge, your admonishment to avoid the cantilever is spot on. However if it's a MM cartridge, he should remove the stylus assembly before installing the cartridge to avoid damaging the stylus/cantilever. At the very least, the stylus protector should stay on the cartridge until it's mounted. (It'll have to be removed for balancing and aligning.)

5. CCrider92