Is Universal Music Group using audible watermarks on digital files?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Edgard Varese, Nov 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Edgard Varese

Edgard Varese Royale with Cheese Thread Starter

It's an old blog post, but I just discovered this yesterday. It seems UMG may be selling deliberately defective products.

http://www.mattmontag.com/music/universals-audible-watermark

Excerpt:

jfeldt likes this.
  2. Blue Collar Man

Blue Collar Man Active Member

This could be a huge problem for people selling legit files like HDTracks. Who wants to pay a premium for a high res file that's essentially been vandalized?

McLover, Drifter, goodiesguy and 5 others like this.
  3. Col Kepper

Col Kepper Well-Known Member

I'm still learning to rip to digital my vinyl.... 24/96... let the label do what ever they want, I just will buy used.

Billy_Sunday and quicksrt like this.
  4. Edgard Varese

:agree:

And as the article notes it's been observed on Spotify streams... and given UMG's vast ownership of labels, this may well be an extremely widespread problem.

5. Blue Collar Man

Blue Collar Man Active Member

I'm not sure how this is relevant. This just doesn't affect 24/96 files. It affects all digital files from Universal, who owns a ridiculous amount of the music that we all love. The label is basically selling defective goods. That should concern everyone.

Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  6. Col Kepper

Col Kepper Well-Known Member

I'll veto with my wallet.

7. ad180

ad180 Forum Resident

That doesn't help those who don't have vinyl or buys new music.

JediJoker and barnaby like this.
  8. ShallowMemory

ShallowMemory Classical Princess

The prevalence of this effects potentially everyone buying UMG product either lps, Itunes downloads, cds and HDTracks hi rez downloads across the board as one the watermark is on the supplied master how can anyone be sure that master won't be reused further down the line.