iTunes convert to lossless?!!?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Keith V, Oct 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keith V

Keith V Forum Resident Thread Starter

There is now an option on iTunes to convert your mp3s to lossless. Isn't that dumb or impossible or am I missing something?

2. psychtrailmix

psychtrailmix Forum Resident

Yeah, pretty sure it's not possible to take an already lossy file and convert to lossless! You can take a FLAC and convert to MP3 though......

I guess they mean you can technically convert it to a lossless format? But it's not like the quality will be better than the original file! haha.... silly

Keith V likes this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

The best explanation I've heard of this is that if the artist/label offer a lossless AAC version of a title, you can download it, but it's not possible to take a lossy file and somehow convert it to lossless. I've never encountered an actual lossless file on iTunes but frankly I've only bought a couple of albums from iTunes anyway.

4. Atmospheric

Atmospheric Forum Resident

Are you talking about the iTunes app or the iTunes store? The app has always had the ability to create Apple Lossless files from any source. However, garbage-in/garbage-out. If you start with any MP3, it's never going to contain more information or sound better.

Now if the iTunes store is now offering this as a purchase option, it's about freakin time. I'm very interested in that.

5. Keith V

it's the app. very strange....

6. Atmospheric

It's not strange at all. It's perfectly logical to offer to capability of saving audio files to other formats. I use this feature a lot to save AIFF and WAV to ALAC, or save any of these formats down to MP3. It's not new. It's been there from the beginning. Trust me, you're way overthinking this.

RolandG, Stone Turntable and Duggeh like this.
  7. Keith V