Jeff Lynne Drum samples

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by radaget, Sep 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. radaget

radaget Forum Resident Thread Starter

Ok - I know this has been debated many times in relation to his production styles and yes you either love it or you don't. I happen to love it but appreciate some people don't.

I really want to create the JL drum sound for my own recordings. I'm almost done setting up my home studio and have BFD2, Kontakt and Jamstix 3 as drum software. But wherever I've looked, none of the sounds come anywhere near close to his, even with the use of compression etc. I'm a guitarist mainly and don't the tools or time to create the sounds from scratch in a studio so I really would like there to be a library of Jeff Lynne drum samples to use on my own recordings.

Does anyone know if this has ever been tried? After all, there are a lot of artist sample packs being created these days. I'm thinking Free as a Bird onwards - Julianna Raye and his soon to be released Long Wave and Mr Blue Sky albums. The drums are fabulous (in my opinion :))

Thanks for listening..

Tim

2. Mlle. Aurora

Mlle. Aurora SeƱor Member

Didn't he double track the snare hits?

3. radaget

Hi. Thanks for the reply. I'm sure that's one of things he does. He did in his ELO days. But I'm sure there's a lot more to it. They sound so different to anything else I've ever heard.

4. ampmods

ampmods Forum Resident

Apparently he did a couple different things to get his drum sound.

One was to double-track Bev playing the kit. So Bev had to write out some of his parts even so they matched up. They apparently would not double the kick though. Anyway there is information online about it somewhere in an interview with Mack Reinhold I believe.