Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by matthew5, Nov 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matthew5

matthew5 Forum Resident Thread Starter

An excellent film.

More than just sushi.... Well it's about that too. But it's also about the search for finding meaning in one's everyday work life. The striving for perfection. The satisfaction in a job well done. I find myself relating to it on some level, being a baker myself. Of course I have not achieved the comparative skill and accolades as Jiro, but every day I strive to be just a little bit better than the last.

There is also a lot of slow motion sequences with a quietly intense Philip Glass score. It lends the film that appropriate level of gravitas.

mikeyt likes this.
  2. curbach

curbach Some guy on the internet

:agree: Great flick :righton:

3. bluesbro

bluesbro Forum Hall of Shame

Loved it. I need to go to Japan.

4. Turnaround

Turnaround Senior Member

My favorite moment in the film is actually when Jiro's two sons tell the story about buying their first Coca-Cola.

Jiro's younger son opened a separate mirror restaurant, while Jiro's older son has to continue working under Jiro -- being obligated as the elder son to follow in the father's footsteps. This is a little foreign to Americans and comes across as a frustrating situation for the older son.

A meal at the restaurant costs ¥30,000, or about US$300.

5. Bryan

Bryan Starman Jr.

One thing that's really interesting to me about the restaurant (and maybe this is another cultural difference) is that it's underground, in a subway station.

6. acjetnut

acjetnut Senior Member

I loved this doc. After watching it I almost booked a flight to Japan!

7. htom

htom Senior Member

That would be easier than booking a reservation at Sukiyabashi Jiro, or at least that's the impression the film leaves.

8. Roninblues

Roninblues 猿も木から落ちる。