King Crimson live recordings: where to start?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by SurrealCereal, Jan 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SurrealCereal

SurrealCereal Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've been a pretty big King Crimson fan for a while now, but I've never bothered to get any of their live recordings yet, although I have heard they are very good. I think I'm mostly interested in the Wetton era, but I'd love to hear something from the original lineup (if any such recordings exist) or from the 80's incarnation. I'm more interested in shorter collections than large, expensive box sets since I am just getting started. Any recommendations?

2. Chew

Chew Casual Stalker

Go to dgmlive.com. There are literally hundreds of shows to download for less than $10 each. Or join the 1000 Club.

Smartin62, abor1g and warewolf95 like this.
  3. konoyaro

konoyaro Forum Resident

Since you mentioned being primarily interested in the Wetton era, I'd suggest "The Collectable King Crimson: Volume One"
    It includes two live concerts - one from Mainz, Germany and the other from Asbury Park, NJ - the latter is the source for the 70's release USA. If you like this, there's so much more to chose from.

grbl, Bernard hansen, jay.dee and 7 others like this.
  4. fuzzface

fuzzface Forum Resident

You could try
    Cirkus: The Young Persons' Guide to King Crimson Live

Bernard hansen, Jeff Kent and Quincy like this.
  5. Wayne Davis

Wayne Davis Forum Resident

USA is a good start

6. SonicBob

SonicBob Forum Resident