Klipschorn newbie

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dpriebe, Mar 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dpriebe

dpriebe New Member Thread Starter

I have recently lucked out and been asked to permantently "store" a set of Klipshorns for my stepfather. They are downsizing their house and don't have anymore space. I am a total Klipschorn newbie and am trying to track down more information about this set. I have done a search on the Klipsch website and have not come up with much useful information. This particular set I believe was purchased in the 60s or early 70s. They are the basic finish, aka plywood painted black. I would like to dress them up a bit (and so would my wife!). The model # is KDFR. So any good links or other sources of info about them? I'm also looking for general directions on what type of amp to use with them. Not that I have much choice at the moment, a Dynaco 70, NAD 304 or some so-called high end Onkyo receiver.
    Thanks, Dave

2. HeavyDistortion

HeavyDistortion Senior Member

Dave,

If you haven't done so already, you should go back to the Klipsch website and go to their Forum page, and then search on the "2-Channel Forum". You should be able to find more information about Klipschorns there. By the way, Klipsch speakers love vintage tube amplification, so your Dynaco 70 tube amplifier should be your best option.

Good Luck,

Ed Hurdle
    HeavyDistortion

3. indy mike

indy mike Forum Pest

That ST-70 should provide plenty of juice to power those K-horns...

4. efhjr

efhjr Idler Wheel Enthusiast

I concur. Every now and then I power my Klipsch Cornwalls with my ST-70 and it never fails to put a smile on my face.

5. dubai2000

dubai2000 New Member

The Klipsch forum is indeed full of people who are ready to help and offer opinions/suggestions etc. Hence you'll find some preferring ss amps, others (myself included) prefer tubes. In the end it's a matter of taste so let your ears decide.