Languaje related:Did the US won this time over the UK? Movies Vs. Films.

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Kiko1974, Apr 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kiko1974

Kiko1974 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Just for fun but, do you think the US won this time regarding the choose of words? We mostly watch movies shot digitally these times so most of the times "film" as physical media is not used. in 2018 what word you think is more accurate, "film" or "movie"? We don't watch much shot on film, projected on film movies in 2018, so what word should we used?
    Since I was a kid my mother languaje, Spanish, has been adapted to the change of times making some words still correct but not contemporary and of every day use anymore, and words that were not correct or inaccurate in the past, the right ones in the present time. Does this happen in English also?
    I'm sorry for my ignorance about the subject, I started learning a very basic English back in 1986 when I was 12 and then started to learn what I consider more or less REAL ENGLISH, that is getting the needed level to for example being able to write this thread just relying to my head,no dictionaries or grammar corectors used, in the mid 1990's by watching fims or movies in English, and also as I live in a very touristic are in Southern Spain by changing hours of English-Spanish conversation with some retired British people that came here to live and enjoy of the Sun and warm weather,but couldn't speak a lick of Spanish. I may be using inaccurate and outdated words as my learning has been a long process.
    Back to topic, what most of you consider right or accurate in 2018, the word "movie" or "film"?

2. stepeanut

stepeanut The gloves are off

3. JozefK

JozefK Forum Resident

S0 the ol' BBC class bias is still alive and well?

[​IMG]

4. JozefK

JozefK Forum Resident

Music "videos" stopped being shot on video in 1982

No reason we need to to stop saying "film"