Life expenctancy of 12AX7 tubes on a Phono preamp.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Kiko1974, Dec 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kiko1974

Kiko1974 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm a novice tube user, I only have a tube Phono preamp which uses three 12 AX7 tubes. One is for amping (V1) of both channels, the second one (V2) does RIAA de-equalization and some more amp, and the third one (V3) is used as a "buffer" tube to keep impedance low and reduce distortion, this V3 tube can also be changed for a 12AU7 tube.
    I'm currently using two RCA 5751 tubes from 1962 with black plates for V1 and V2 and an English made Raytheon 12AU7 (most likely a rebranded Mullard) with small smooth plates for the V3. My Phono preamp is a "clone" of an EAR 834.
    As an average, what is the audio expectancy of 12AX7 tubes on a Phono preamp? I've read on several websites like Audiogon that they can last around 8 to 10 years, I never thought tubes could last that long. Is this true?
    Thanks in advance.

hi_watt likes this.
  2. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

Most likely thousands and thousands of hours. With old production tubes maybe years and years. In relatively low stress preamp circuits, I tend only tonchange preamp tubes when they become noisy or something, or just when I want a different flavor. But, yeah, you can potentially get year and years out of a preamp tube in a phono stage.

3. bluemooze

bluemooze Senior Member

:agree:

Kiko1974 and RDriftwood like this.
  4. Thorensman

Thorensman Forum Resident

As has been said many years
    My Troughline tuner is running
    On original tubes !
    I would be wary when swooping tubes.anECC83 will have different
    Voltage requirement to some variation
    Tube,

bluemooze and Kiko1974 like this.
  5. ls35a

ls35a Forum Resident

Fifteen hundred to twenty-five hundred hours.

Kiko1974 likes this.
  6. vintage_tube

vintage_tube Enjoying Life & Music