Mono without a Mono cart or button on amp....

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Chester0711, Nov 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chester0711

Chester0711 Forum Resident Thread Starter

okay so I have a lot of Mono Jazz albums that I love and I am usually a hair less critical of surface issues on my mono albums because typically when the mono button on my old Marantz was pressed or active I would not hear the surface noise as much.

Fast forward to my new Yamaha A-S501 and I do not have a mono button. Without getting too nuts, do any of you have a preferred method of playing mono albums with a setup that does not make special allowances or adjustments for it? Do you throw the balance over to one speaker and just go single channel that way? Are there better ways? I can’t think of any , just asking?

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I just listen to mono albums over two speakers and enjoy it. It doesn't sound bad to me at all.

3. Rolltide

Rolltide Forum Resident

What kind of table/cartridge do you have?

4. JohnO

JohnO Senior Member

You can add a mono capability with a couple of inexpensive cables, discussed in this long thread - you would have to manually make or break one simple connection to switch from mono to stereo
    SH Spotlight - If you have a turntable you need to play your mono records in true MONO. How to do it cheaply..

A forum user makes a well regarded high quality "Stereo/Mono switch box", and many forum users have ordered one, discussed, with photos, in this long thread on the For Sale section, the photos are now toward the end of the thread since the first photo hosting got broken
    http://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/stereo-mono-switch.386061/
    Current photo here
    http://forums.stevehoffman.tv/posts/16758436/

SandAndGlass and Rickchick like this.
  5. TheVinylAddict

TheVinylAddict Look what I found

This all over the archives.