Musicians listen to music differently than other people

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Metoo, Mar 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metoo

Metoo Forum Hall Of Fame Thread Starter

2. P2CH

P2CH Well-Known Member

I play music and I agree that I listen much differently than non-playing people do. Some people though pick out things I don't hear though so it can work both ways.

Usually it's lyrics that I miss. I will hear keys, drums, guitars or what's going on in the mix where most don't pay attention to. It's the beat to some. And that's not a bad thing either cause I need to have their take on things too.

3. PROG U.K.

PROG U.K. Audiophile-Anglophile

As a musician I feel like I have an appreciation for the technique, fundamentals and overall complexity of a composition. I do feel sometimes this colours my judegment of those performers/songwriters who are not technically adept. On the other side I do tend to not listen much to lyrics, I miss that and others tend to get more from this than I.

4. TVC15

TVC15 Forum Resident

I almost never listen to lyrics. I can't even understand what Bono is saying on the new U2 (and don't care.),

5. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite

I was going to go for the "that's a no-brainer" comment...but I thought it was too droll...

It seems obvious that musicians would be able to put themselves into the mindset of a person who is making music when they hear it. This is called empathy. The more interesting part of the article for me, was the notion that we musicians also reject distracting sounds better if we know they're not relevant to the listening experience.

6. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

I don't pay attention to lyrics until last. Lyrics are the first thing most people listen for, especially women, IME.

7. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite