My sound file is too soft! What's the easiest fix?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by head_unit, Oct 20, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member Thread Starter

I have a recording my brother made of an REO Speedwagon concert I went to in Chicago-he was too young, I took a girl, he listened at home to the radio simulcast.

A college friend eventually digitized this bless him, BUT it is not loud enough! On my little clip portables, it just will not play very loud even at maximum volume.

I'm running a bunch of Macs, what is the easiest way to improve the signal level without clipping it?

2. Rick58

Rick58 Forum Resident

Download Audacity (free) ... it has lots of controls. I use it all the time for basic things (I'm not an expert) on my iMac, can help a little if needed. I usually adjust gain, fade in/out, maybe even speed up or slow things down (with or without pitch changes).

3. Morbius McDalek

Morbius McDalek Mobilis in mobili

Agreed. What you want to do is to "peak normalise" the levels, so the loudest level corresponds to the maximum allowed:

Normalize - Audacity Manual .

head_unit likes this.
  4. Retro Music Man

Retro Music Man Forum Resident

Sometimes there will be a single errant peak (eg. a large click or pop) which prevents the rest of the audio from reaching a normal level. In this case, you might need to use the "Limiter" effect to cut it down to size.

Otherwise, the peak normalise feature should work fine.

head_unit and bluemooze like this.
  5. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

Well, I would have to know/see the files first. It's hard to give you an answer of what to do in any software without seeing what you're dealing with.