Need some advice on a turntable!!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by CopTheRiotAct, Jan 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CopTheRiotAct

CopTheRiotAct New Member Thread Starter

Hi, this is my first post here. This is a great forum and I look here first for almost any question I have about TTs or vinyl pressings etc.

Ive been buying vinyl for about 8 years now, but only recently I have been buying a lot more and realizing I need to take care of them and have a decent setup. I don't make too much money and I have other priorities, so i cant spend too much on my setup.
    I currently have:
    Sherwood RX5502 2.0CH Stereo Receiver

Wharfedale Atlantic AT-400 Floorstanding Speakers

Sony PS LX250H Turntable.

I was looking to spend only $500 AUD on a new turntable to start with.

My main questions are:

Is it worth upgrading my Sony turntable for something like a "Pro-Ject essential II" or similar?
    Will my speakers and receiver combo hold back any turntable upgrades making it pointless?

Thanks so much for reading. I understand there's a million similar threads to this, and it must get tiring to explain this basic scenarios again and again. Also i apologize for the many fonts etc. it wouldn't let me fix it for some reason.

2. Ash76

Ash76 Wait actually yeah no

I would go the Pro-ject Debut Carbon or Rega RP-1 over the Essential. I don't know your current turntable but imagine either would be a decent step up.
    Get the best you can afford and then upgrade the other components when money permits and your turntable will shine!

audiofool likes this.
  3. moomaloo

moomaloo All-round good egg

4. Rick58

Rick58 Forum Resident

I can't recommend any TT from real experience (I have a 'hand me down' but good Thorens TD145 and have purchased several cartridges over the ~30 years I've owned it) but welcome to the forum and to audiophilia!