Needledrop recording help (guess my problem)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DetroitDoomsayer, May 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DetroitDoomsayer

DetroitDoomsayer Forum Middle Child Thread Starter

I'm having some problems with recording from LPs into my DAW.
    My set-up is Technics 1200 MKII into McIntosh MA 5100 preamp-amplifier, output into line in jack (not ideal, I know) on the back of my computer.
    As you can see in the image below, I seem to be overloading the signal which is causing limiting/clipping at -5 db. My recording level is set low and nowhere near 0db, so the waveform shouldn't look like this.
    My guess is that the line input on my computer is the culprit and is overloading.
    Anyone care to guess if it's the line-in, amp, or turntable?

I do plan on purchasing a USB audio interface soon. Do you think that will fix my problem?

This is a new problem, I've been doing successful needledrops for 5 years or so and have just recently encountered this problem (in the last 2 months or so).

Problem recording (partial song):
    [​IMG]

Same song recorded 8 months ago (full song):
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 15, 2018
  2. Did you set the line in level in your computer operating system?

3. DetroitDoomsayer

Everything is the same as it's always been.

As I said in my initial post my recording level is set low and nowhere near 0db where it would clip.

I've not previously had this problem in the 5 or so years that I've been doing this.

4. What is the output from your McIntosh MA 5100 preamp-amplifier? Tape? Aux? ????

5. DetroitDoomsayer

Yes, tape out.

6. Now I'm stumped.

7. If your hardware setup hasn't changed it has to be your software.

8. JohnO

JohnO Senior Member