Neil Young recording new album with Chris Walden

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Heart of Gold, Aug 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heart of Gold

Heart of Gold Forum Resident Thread Starter

Several sources are reporting that Neil Young is recording a new album in Los Angeles with the arranger Chris Walden, Niko Bolas producing. Photos of the recording sessions on the Gina Zimmitti Facebook.

2. P(orF)

P(orF) Forum Resident

It's sad because I've been listening to him for 45 years, but my only reaction when I hear he's doing a new recording is "What's the gimmick this time?"

3. babyblue

babyblue Patches Pal!

Yep, more and more Neil seems to be more about the gimmick than the actual music. I can see how this could happen to a veteran musician (especially a creative and eccentric one like Neil). It probably keeps things interesting. Unfortunately, it doesn't always produce good music.

4. DreamIsOver

DreamIsOver Senior Member

I had to google who Chris Walden was. On his Facebook page he has a picture of the sessions and says it's the second day of "awesomely loud big band" music.

5. qtrules

qtrules Forum Resident

as long as there's more than one microphone.

also remember, this isn't the first time NY has recorded with a big orchestra.

RomanZ and footlooseman like this.
  6. Stone Turntable

Stone Turntable Independent Head

This is okay with me if we also get Archives Vol. 2 and a live album from the last tour with Crazy Horse (and maybe something from the most recent solo acoustic shows at Carnegie Hall and elsewhere).

I'm not down with the sourpuss "gimmick" complaining at all. Let Neil's freak flag fly. He's here to be nuts and follow his muse, so deal with it. It's working out pretty well over the long run.

Last edited: Aug 24, 2014
    hutlock, No Bull, dirie and 9 others like this.
  7. Six String

Six String Senior Member