Newbie help to transfer reel to cd

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Bob Track, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Track

Bob Track New Member Thread Starter

I'm a newbie with digital recording I need some recommendations on transfering some reel tapes to cd. I will be using either a Nagra 4SJ or Stellavox SP-7 to a HP Pavillion 7000 laptop which has a 3.4 gig processor, I'm looking for straight transfer with the least coloration to the sound as possible. What hardware for the laptop would be recommended and software, the decks both have RCA outputs
    Thanks

2. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.

You will need a long "Y" adapter. You can get one at any Radio Shack. It's a 1/8" stereo jack to 2-RCA.

Not sure that laptop would have a bonifide line-level input though. Compaqs and HP's of today only have line-level output and Mic. Neither are useable for input recording.

You would have to pony up for a USB sound card of some sort, or better yet, use a desktop with a half-decent card....

3. Bob Track

How is the quality of the M-Audio interfaces with USB or Firewire?

4. StyxCollector

StyxCollector Man of Miracles

First, as Sckott says, you need a soundcard. Laptop ones that do what desktop ones do are generally more expensive due to form factor. You could always get a Firewire/USB 2.0 PCMCIA and get an external box, too. That could work. Make sure, especially with a laptop and possibly slow I/O, you have low latency. The breakout box should cover you in the RCA input/outputs.

Make sure you get an input device/card that supports what you want and what bitrate you want. I transfer reels at 96/24. That is a lot of hard drive room, but worth it to me. I use a separate internal HD, but it's a desktop.

Then you need a decent program (I use WaveLab or Cubase SL). A basic WAV editor will suffice but you may want something more.

5. -=Rudy=-

-=Rudy=- ♪♫♪♫♫♪♪♫♪♪ Staff