No Stereo - Only Mono Playback Question?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by QuestionMark?, Jul 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QuestionMark?

QuestionMark? 4TH N' GOAL Thread Starter

I just hooked up an old Kenwood KR 6600 and the left channel is out until I hit the mono button and then both sides play. What could the problem be and how can I trouble shoot? Total novice here and any help appreciated!

OK I got the stereo playback to work but it goes on and off. Is this a heating problem that happens when the receiver gets heated?

Last edited: Jul 31, 2018
  2. Carl Swanson

Carl Swanson Senior Member

Is this the case with all inputs?

QuestionMark? likes this.
  3. QuestionMark?

Yes, it was the same with the turntable and CD player.

4. Adam9

Adam9 Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй.

One channel appears to be intermittent in your amplifier. When you hit the mono switch you are hearing one channel through both speakers.
    It may be just a dirty volume or balance control. Try cleaning it.
    Otherwise you may have to get it professionally serviced.

5. QuestionMark?

Thanks! I pulled the knobs off and blew some air. Its working right now but I'm waiting to see if it cuts out again when it heats back up.

6. Doug Sclar

Doug Sclar Forum Legend

Wouldn't be the amplifier or mono would only work with one speaker. Must be something before the actual amplifier.

7. QuestionMark?

Could it be something in the phono pre-amp?

8. QuestionMark?

I plugged the turntable directly into the phono output. Its playing right but I'm once again waiting to see what happens when it heats up.

Listening to sides 3 & 4 of The Byrds - Untitled and it is sounding wonderful!

9. Lownote30

Lownote30 Bass Clef Addict

Dirty pot, or switch. When it's intermittent like that, I've always found that getting some contact cleaner in the pots and switches will clear it up.

10. leemelone

leemelone Forum Resident

+1