Ok, I love Bowie's 80's music. Who else does on here?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by erocky, Nov 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erocky

erocky Senior Member Thread Starter

I have all of Bowie's albums. The 80's stuff has always had a soft spot in my heart. I recently picked up the 12 inch remix of Underground. It is an interesting song. Clearly a lot of effort went into it. On my computer, I combined the remix with the instrumental version and edited out some of the more cheesy parts.
    I feel like Bowie did some really good stray songs for soundtracks in the 80's.
    Cat people putting out fire
    Absolute Beginners
    This is not America
    Underground
    When the wind blows

Thoughts?

2. DBMethos

DBMethos Forum Resident

Well, Scary Monsters is clearly a classic that is technically an 80s release, but I know most don't associate it with that decade. Let's Dance is a very good pop record. Tonight is bleh as an album but contains some great singles. I've always liked Never Let Me Down despite its reputation, but the production is pretty bland. Tin Machine was a necessary part of Bowie's musical recovery, but it's not an innately listenable album. That leaves the soundtrack releases (Absolute Beginners, Labyrinth, Cat People, Falcon and the Snowman, When the Wind Blows) as proof that he was still capable of quality material, but overall I think you have to go all the way to Buddha of Suburbia to find the "interesting Bowie" again.

3. MHP

MHP Lover of Rock ‘n Roll

I do, but with reservations.

dennis the menace likes this.
  4. ukrules

ukrules Forum Resident

Lets Dance is my only Bowie Studio album.

Purple likes this.
  5. Maurice

Maurice Senior Member

It wasn't the best decade for him but it hardly deserves the derision that it typically gets. I tend to like it, maybe because it was my first exposure to Bowie as a young teenager. My 80's Bowie top 10:
    1. China Girl
    2. Loving The Alien