Old Records - Mono or Stereo? How can you know which are true stereo?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by marcellovalerio, Dec 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marcellovalerio

marcellovalerio New Member Thread Starter

This is probably answered on here many places...but I am looking at two records:

Jimmy Durante - September Song
    Bobby Darin - That's All

Both appear in Stereo and Mono, but are the stereo versions Genuine? Are there any general guidelines for old records when it comes to this issue?

2. Sean Keane

Sean Keane Pre-Mono record collector In Memoriam

I know that Darin's is real stereo. I'm no expert, but I don't think there's too much, if any, fake stereo Bobby Darin.

3. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Those are both stereo. However, if you like "That's All", you need to find a mono LP; different microphone placement, etc.

4. Sean Keane

Sean Keane Pre-Mono record collector In Memoriam

I never knew that there was a different microphone setup for mono records. I thought the sound all just went to a mono deck.

Here's Bobby 'Buddha-face' Darin with Dick Clark.

Attached Files:

5. Perisphere

Perisphere Forum Resident

Use of a differing mike setup for stereo versus mono (extended to even differing control rooms and engineers) was SOP at Capitol in it's Hollywood studios for several years in the late 1950s, for one example.

6. Chip TRG

Chip TRG Senior Member

I've got a nice Yellow Harp Atco Stereo copy of "That's All", and I gotta agree with Steve....The mono is better.

7. Lord Hawthorne

Lord Hawthorne Currently Untitled

A lot of record price-guides show mono and stereo lps as (m) and (s), and fake stereo lps as (e) for "enhanced stereo".

8. apileocole

apileocole Lush Life Gort

There are genuine stereo versions of both. The mono Darin has the edge in my opinion but if you really enjoy the album you might find it of interest to hear both the stereo and mono albums of it.