Passive Crossovers

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Benjamin1, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Benjamin1

Benjamin1 New Member Thread Starter

Hi I am new to building speakers and I could do with help to understand which crossover I should use. In my passive 15 inch subs. I also have top cabs to build as well they will be 10 inch and a horn sealed. All the help will be appreciated thanks.

Benjamin1

2. JBStephens

JBStephens I don't "like", "share", "tweet", or CARE. In Memoriam

Buy the "Loudspeaker Design Cookbook", a web search will find it, read it, and enjoy building your speakers.

3. Benjamin1

Benjamin1 New Member Thread Starter

Hi thank you for the help I will look for that book.

4. JBryan

JBryan Forum Resident

Passive xovers should be your goal but you can avoid a lot of time with the hit n' miss issues of speaker design by picking up a decent active xover with such things as multiple slopes, adjustable cutoff points and maybe even delay. I haven't built a speaker in years so there may be some simple software available but you can find quite a few (digital) xovers from Rane, Ashly and even Behringer that will speed up the process and wont break the bank. Once you fine tune and determine the parameters needed to integrate the drivers and speaker, you can order the right parts and build a proper xover.

Brother_Rael likes this.
  5. rhubarb9999

rhubarb9999 Forum Resident

6. ggergm

ggergm another spring another baseball season

There is no substitute for experimentation when it comes to building a passive crossover. You never know how it will sound until you try.