Playing Quadraphonic records question

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Bill Cormier, Feb 27, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill Cormier

Bill Cormier Forum Resident Thread Starter

A friend of mine has a ton of Quad LP`s that he would like to play.

He had a couple of questions for me that I could not answer (as I am no expert ) so I figured I would post his questions here.

First question; What do I need, amp wise, to play my Quad. LP`s ?

I told him to look for an old `70s Quad. amp online. If there are other alternatives please chime in !

Second question; Is there some sort of Quad. pre-amp I can use to decode these to Quad. using my stereo amp. ?

I told him I didn`t think so, but I would pose this question on the site here.
    Seems to me it would still be stereo either way with a stereo amp but he does have 4 speaker terminals on the back of his amp.

He does know that he needs 4 speakers :)

Thanks !

2. feinstei9415

feinstei9415 Forum Resident

If you want to transfer them to true quad playback DVD's or WAV files, you can use a great little free quadraphonic (for those records encoded with the SQ Matrix process) decoder available here:

https://www-user.rhrk.uni-kl.de/~junglas/SQdecode/SQdecode.html

First, you playback the LP and digitize it to a WAV file using a program such as Audacity available here:

Audacity® »

Then, you put the resulting WAV file through SQDecode which results in a quadraphonic WAV file which you can burn to a multichannel DVD-A or DVD-V, or simply playback on your computer.

SQ decoding hardware from the 1970's was pretty awful and playing SQ Quad records through them usually did not result in the separation and soundstage that the recording engineer intended.
    By contrast, SQDecode results in a very true reproduction of the SQ Quad record soundstage that the mixing engineer intended.