Playing with SRA and VTA - some surprises

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Strat-Mangler, Jun 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker Thread Starter

Returned to vinyl in August so I'm still learning every day and today was no exception.

Did some extensive reading on SRA and how setting it up as close as possible to 92 degrees should be the goal. Using a camera, I was able to see the angle of the diamond and I set the SRA appropriately which took some trial & error but after about 10 min, everything looks perfect on paper.

Then, I spun a record. Oh, my! This was not what I wanted. Instead of the sound being engaging, full of life, inviting, and cohesive, it fell apart. What I had afterwards was a collapsed soundstage, everything became extremely muddy, the high-end was quite muted, and the mids sounded annoying, quite frankly.

Since I always give the benefit of the doubt, I decided to take advantage of my VPI Prime's ability to calibrate VTA on-the-fly so I spun a beautifully recorded LP I know like the back of my hand and it sounded terrible. I then went to the table and raised the arm *quite* a lot. The mids and high-end were now amazing but the bass was a little on the shy side. The arm was then brought down a bit and then, the bass was back! The clear and inviting mids and high-end remained.

So I'm glad I did that experiment even though the end result was somewhat of a surprise. Looking at my stylus, I see the angle of the diamond is more pronounced than the 92 degrees people oftentimes refer to but in the end, it's what the ears hear that is most important ; not adhering to statistics.

Nevertheless, it was an interesting conclusion. Color me surprised. :)

RZangpo2, Rickchick, Lenny and 2 others like this.
  2. snorker

snorker Big Daddy