Please help an absolute newbie with no clue set up a turntable! :)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by fjhuerta, Aug 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fjhuerta

fjhuerta New Member Thread Starter

...did I mention I listened to my grandmother's LPs when she gave me her speakers? :D

She did. Well, sorta. Her equipment is completely busted, so I could only listen to one channel. And I had to *spin the LP around using my index finger*. Needless to say, I had some really cool flashbacks about my first TT... back when I was 3 years old (did I ever mention my parents are the coolest persons on earth? How many kids had their own TT (and used their parents' one) when they were three??? And how many kids, even back then, preferred the sound of vinyl because "their uncle said vinyl is the best"?). :thumbsup:

Anyway, something happened. I couldn't believe what I was just listening. There I was, spinning an old turntable around with my finger, listening through an old, completely busted Sony integrated amplifier through old Kenwood speakers... and it sounded *exactly* right. I cannot put my finger on it - through all the layers of dust, mud, and scratches, the music under it all was impressively... real.

So, I came home, and dusted off my old (30 years old!) Technics separates. A friend at the office will rebuild the amp, using new capacitors and resistors. I already cleaned the deck, and it sounds pretty good. I had bought a stylus some time ago for my TT - a $100 Audio-Technica. I never used it, since I later discovered my parents had given away all my LPs a couple of years ago! (I cried).

Anyway, I'm all set up, except for the Turntable. As I said before, it's a Technics, with an "S" style arm (it looks like an "S", at least). I tried mounting the cartridge - success!!! But now it's pretty obvious I haven't got a clue about a real setup - what is the correct angle for the stylus? Weight on the tonearm? Anti-skip setting...?