Please recommend me a good new system.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Kilgore Trout, Oct 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kilgore Trout

Kilgore Trout Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi everyone,

It's time to upgrade my decrepit old system to something nicer. It's my first time shopping for my own equipment and there's an overwhelming amount of brands and sales talk, so expert suggestions would be much appreciated.

I'm lookng for a good pair of speakers and an amplifier with a total budget of about $4k. Mostly I will be playing lossless digital files and vinyl, so good laptop and turntable connectivity is a must. You can see what I usually listen to here. Please suggest some good brands, websites or physical stores in the Los Angeles area. Thanks in advance!

2. Nomadicarchivist

Nomadicarchivist Forum Resident

What is your old system?

3. Synthfreek

Synthfreek I’m a ray of sunshine & bastion of positivity

Do you already have a DAC and phono preamp?

4. Kilgore Trout

This ancient Panasonic CD changer and these Sony speakers. Plus a Vaio laptop and Audio Technica AT-PL 120 turntable with a Nagaoka cartridge. The latter two I plan to keep using with the new system.

5. Kilgore Trout

Nope. The Panasonic unit is currently handling all that to the best of its ability.

6. Synthfreek

Synthfreek I’m a ray of sunshine & bastion of positivity

IMO, it would be a disservice to $4000 worth of new equipment by hooking a laptop up directly to it via its headphone jack instead of using a DAC. That would also be a pretty high-end setup to be using the built-in phono preamp of your turntable. I’d leave some of your budget open for those two things.

7. Kilgore Trout

Makes sense. Then I'll need suggestions on those two things as well. :)

8. Ntotrar

Ntotrar Forum Resident

Integrated amp with DAC and speakers. How big is the room?

Robert C, jerico and Fishoutofwater like this.
  9. KT88

KT88 Senior Member