Poor Sound ... needle replacement ????

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Rony Thomas, Nov 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rony Thomas

Rony Thomas New Member Thread Starter

Hello,

I am completely new to turntable & records. Recently bought a Sony PS-LX340 for $50. It was working fine for a week+. 2 days ago I built a cheap audio rack and moved my turntable, received and DVD/CD player and connected everything back. All of a sudden the needle started skating and I used the anti-skating knob to adjust and its not skating anymore. Then I noticed the sound quality is poor with more static. CDs play very well, its just the turntable. I tried different records and the same result. I have to fess up here I did touch the needle a few times and tried to move it to the right ( aligned to a groove right above it). Ground wire is connected to the receiver. I tried adjusting the sub-weight on the tone arm and it didnt do anything at all. Visually inspected the level of the tone-arm when it was playing and it looks balanced. What could be the reason for poor sound quality ? any other thoughts ? Link to the the pictures of the needle + cartridge (https://goo.gl/photos/aTW7v958x5GmN79SA) . Thanks for the help in advance.

RT

2. Thorensman

Thorensman Forum Resident

Almost certain that your shelf or tack is not level, and by moving counterweight, you have de-tuned your turntable.
    Lets sort it. We will require a spirit level, s shure stylus balance would be nice.
    Some data please( easily obtained from internet)
    We require the reccommended tracking force.
    Place record on platter(turntable) place onto this the spirit level( can go directly on the platter ). If the rack is adjustable start adjusting! We require it level in sll planes.if as a last resort you have to pack under the feet then do do.
    A wall shelf designed for s turntable would be money spent.