Problem With Pre amp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Hex Enduction Hour, Mar 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hex Enduction Hour

Hex Enduction Hour New Member Thread Starter

Hi all,
    I'm new to the hobby and forum so I apologise in advance if I've posted in the wrong place and any other mistakes.
    I recently bought a Project Debut Carbon, but needed a preamp as my amplifier has no phono stage.
    I purchased the 'Project Phono Box E MM' and hooked up the RCA cables. The sound was definitely louder but very muddy
    and distorted.

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong here?

2. John Storey

John Storey Well-Known Member

I would start by ensuring the ground wire (and input and output cables) are firmly connected.

Have you adjusted the gain? If your still having trouble that might be something to look at...

You have the Ortofon 2M red still on the debut Carbon I assume? I'll look for the gain settings for it and post them here if I find them.

Hex Enduction Hour likes this.
  3. John Storey

John Storey Well-Known Member

Now I'm not sure the phono box e had gain settings? Is there a set (or two) of small dip switches on the bottom?

4. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

Maybe check the manual to be sure you've connected it right:
    http://www.project-audio.com/inhalt/en/manual/manual_phonoboxe.pdf

Otherwise, there really isn't much to it. No user-adjustable settings at all.

It's also possible that your turntable is not set up properly or things got knocked out of alignment.

What amplifier do you have?

5. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

What line stage/integrated amp are you feeding with the phono pre?

6. Hex Enduction Hour

Hi guys, thanks for all of your responses!
    The amp is a NAD C352 stereo integrated amplifier.

Also it may be worth mentioning that I tried the same turntable on my other amp which doesn't need a pre amp