Quicksilver Messenger Service - Happy Trails : Bgo Vs Repertoire - Help !

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Moviemax, Apr 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Moviemax

Moviemax Active Member Thread Starter

Hi folks,

i want to discover the legendary album Happy Trails by Quicksilver Messenger Service but there is a lot of different sounding cds and i'd like to buy the best.

After comparism with samples from almost each edition (thanks to my uncle's collection) i've come to hesitate between my three favorites :

1992 Bgo
    2000 Repertoire
    2010 Bgo

I am a newbie in terms of sound quality evaluation so i'd like to know which one you prefer between 3 short samples from Who do you love - part 1. I've called them number 1, number 2 and number 3 because i donnot want you to be influenced by what you've read or heard somewhere else. Seems that the 2000 repertoire is considered the best here but i am not sure everybody had the opportunity to hear those 3 different editions and compare them. Here's the link to download the samples :

http://xfl05ly5va.1fichier.com/

The track order is not necesseraly as mentionned before. Number 1 is not necesseraly 1992 bgo, number 2 2000 repertoire... Volume level of the files has not been changed. There are volume differences between the 3 editions so do not hesitate to adjust the volume between them using audacity or something else to make a true comparism.

Thanks for help.

2. HeavyDistortion

HeavyDistortion Senior Member

The orignal BGO from 1992 is my favorite CD release of this title; the original US Capitol CD would be my second choice.

Ed Hurdle
    HeavyDistortion

3. Moviemax

Have you heard the 2000 Repertoire praised by some people here ? Do you have 5 minutes to do the samples test ? Thanks.

4. Yardbird

Yardbird Forum Resident

I picked up Culture Factory's The Legends of Rock's QMS Happy Trails the other day - haven't listened to it yet.