Recent Jazz Vinyl

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by -Ben, Jul 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. -Ben

-Ben Senior Member Thread Starter

Last Saturday I was in a Jazz mood so I started playing 3 Mono 200g Classic Records: Cannonball Adderley's Somethin' Else, John Coltrane's Blue Train and Lee Morgan's Candy. I must say these titles sound really wonderful in mono. Maybe not quite the revelation of a Sgt. Pepper's mono, but nevertheless "must have" indeed. All three titles seemed to have slight/occasional surface noise, but after careful cleaning I was able to get rid of just about all of the surface noise. Then, right in the middle of the listening session I got a special delivery....AP's Saxophone Colossus at 45 RPM (mastered by Steve and Kevin). All I can say is that this is another outstanding LP that blows away any previous release. The vinyl on this baby is also flawless. My highest recommendation!!!!
    Thanks again to Steve, Kevin, Chad and all at RTI.

BTW, for those already subscribed to the series...a special offer was made by Chad. We can keep our Ltd. Ed. No. for the two 45 RPM singles (Isaac Hayes and the Staples), the SRV/Albert King 45 RPM LP, and the 3 Art Pepper LPs. All for $190 shipping included.
    Who's going for the whole enchilada?

BC

2. ChrisM

ChrisM Reclusive Enabler

Some years back, I found a few used mono Coltrane LPs in near-mint shape (A Love Supreme, Live at Birdland and JC with Johnny Hartman). It was very cool to hear Love Supreme in mono. Some of those recordings in stereo really make the musicians sound like they are isolated in a cardboard box (esp. Tyner's piano). It would be nice to have some of the old Coltrane stuff issued on CD in mono/stereo packages. Also, since the mono masters haven't been hauled out to re-re-remaster over the years, I'd be keen to see how those masters sound in comparison.

Cheers,
    Chris

3. -Ben

Maybe I should rephrase since I don't have the original monos.