Recommendations on a MC cartridge for LP12

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by vex, May 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vex

vex New Member Thread Starter

I've been using a 100% Linn LP12 setup for about four years now and I most certainly love it. It's outfitted with the Ekos arm, Trampolin base, Lingo power supply, and Linto phono stage.

I've been using a Klyde cartridge and my second one is up for replacement. Although I really love this cart, I've become disenchanted with its lifespan. I believe a high-end cartridge should be good for more than two years, even if it does get heavy use. I figure I use the deck on average for six hours per week. That translates to about 624 hours of use before the cart starts heading south. I figure it should be good for at least twice but perhaps three to four times that amount of time before replacement should be considered.

In any event, I'm ready to break out of the Linn rut and am looking for an incredible cartridge that will mate well with this setup. I'm open to any and all suggestions! The main problem is that the Ekos arm has a very small mounting tolerance, so suggestions for moving coil carts that are know to be mountable on this arm will be most appreciated. Besides this criteria, I am looking for something that will hold up for between 1500 and 3000 hours before retipping/rebuilding/replacing need to be considered. As for sonic performance, it should (naturally) blow my mind. Price should be at most around two grand.

2. Beagle

Beagle Senior Member

How about the Lyra Helikon? It's around two grand and it's a very neutral uncolored cartridge.

3. vex

Actually, I have been seriously considering this cartridge. However, I don't know if will mount on the Ekos arm. Do you have firsthand experience with this cart? How many hours is it generally good for? Any experience or opinions that you or anyone else can share about this or similar carts will help me a great deal.