Rega Apollo-R CD player

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Art K, Jul 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Art K

Art K Retired but not tired! Thread Starter

Just to remove the conversation around Rega CD players from the RP3/Elys 2 thread and give the OP back his thread I decided to open this thread for a discussion around the Apollo-R.

I have been experiencing trouble with the Apollo-R such as;

1) Signal break up
    2) Disc reinitializing mid playback
    3) Player not reading the disc upon startup

With the latest player if I unplug the player from the mains and plug it back in then it resets and works.

I spoke to my dealer and Steve at the Sound Org and I believe we came to the conclusion that there may be some sort of incompatibility with the Apollo-R and the power in my home. I'm not technical enough to know why that is but Steve and Teri at Stereotypes are top notch folks and I have to trust what they say. Let me be clear that no one has said that this possible incompatibility issue is for certain. There may be no way to know. If it is so then that may affect quite a number of people and it may be why very few of these players make it back to the distributor and Rega.

1) I have a problem with my player.
    2) Player goes back to dealer who plays it and never has a glitch...no problem. Use as demo or sell it as used.
    3) Frustrated customer moves on and we never know whether they will have multiple failures

To be fair I've had 3 Apollo-R's and one of them had a well known problem with the sensor magnet and the others have been experiencing these read errors.