Replacement bulb for Sony SXRD

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Marty Milton, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marty Milton

Marty Milton Senior Member Thread Starter

I have a Sony SXRD rear projection TV, model #KDS-55A2000. I am getting a flashing red light when I turn on my TV. The manual indicates this means the lamp needs to be replaced. Can anyone recommend a reliable source for a replacement lamp?

2. Marty Milton

I put this in the wrong forum. I thought I was in the hardware forum. You would think I was a newbie here. Could a gort please move it for me?

Thanks.

3. mcow1

mcow1 Sommelier Gort

:thumbsup:

4. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

5. Phlo

Phlo Formerly dave-o

Went through the same thing with my Mitsubishi 52" DLP. Not cheap to replace that puppy; over $200.00. I had no idea they burned out so fast. Mine lasted about 2 years.

6. Marty Milton

Thanks for responding so quickly and moving this thread. We really have the best group of Administrators/Gorts here. Keep the suggestions coming.

7. Doug Sclar

Doug Sclar Forum Legend

Marty,

It may not be the bulb. When you start the set do you see a picture for a short time before the red light starts? If so, it's likely your fan.

My fan has been acting up for several years and all it takes is some shots of compressed air. The little cans you can buy work well, but sometimes it takes a few tries before the set starts up. I imagine the fan needs to be replaced but it's no small picnic to open the back of the set. I'll keep with the air spray until it no longer works.

Besides, since this is such a universal problem, I assume the new fan will ultimately develop the same issue, so why replace it. A few years ago a service tech came out to fix my set and clued me in about blowing out the fan. I told him to leave the replacement fan as a spare and when the air trick stops working perhaps I'll replace the fan.