Rolling Stones Between the Buttons SACD

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Astralweeks, Oct 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Astralweeks

Astralweeks Diamond Dog Thread Starter

Haven't found much on Stones SACDs on here so I figured this could help. I'm looking for a really nice Between the Buttons UK CD. Some say the SACD is great, some say the London CD is better. Anyone have an opinion?

2. telepicker97

telepicker97 Got Any Gum?

There's one for a reasonable price in the classified section right now if you want to check out how awesome the SACD sounds.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

The SACD has no-noise, the London CD has speed problems. And the London CD is not the UK tracklisting, it's the U.S.

Neither are what the album deserves, but the SACD isn't awful. It's just irritating that they seem to have narrowed the stereo image somewhat, and used no-noise on the beginning and ending of tracks. The London CD I would only recommend if you can get it cheaply, because the speed issues, especially on "Miss Amanda Jones" are unacceptable. That track sounds like the Chipmunks. Shame since the rest of the album sounds lovely.

George P and mdm08033 like this.
  4. lukpac

lukpac Senior Member

Short answer is one doesn't exist commercially.

The London CD is arguably the best "as-is" version, although that's the US track listing.

Best would be a restoration using the SACD and London CD as sources, reversing any narrowing and avoiding NR.

5. telepicker97

London CD speed issues = not acceptable

Larry Geller and FJFP like this.
  6. lukpac

lukpac Senior Member

Ideal? No. Acceptable? When the alternative is noise reduction and narrowing, definitely.

7. telepicker97

Yeah, I guess I never realized why BTB is one where I always reach for the vinyl...

vudicus likes this.
  8. vudicus

vudicus Forum Resident

Also, it's fixable, whereas the damage of noise reduction is there for good.