Shaft TV Series (1973)

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by mattright, Sep 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattright

mattright Forum Resident Thread Starter

Well somehow I had no idea that there was ever a Shaft TV show. I believe it was really more like a series of 2 hr TV movies - about 7 of them in total.
    I'm no expert on the theatrical movies - but I'm a huge fan of 70s cop shows and this one fits right in. You've still got Richard Roundtree reprising his role along with variations of the iconic Isaac Hayes theme song peppered throughout the show.
    It seems to me like like somebody had some generic 70s private eye detective scripts and they simply shoehorned the John Shaft character into the script. That said, I still enjoy this as it's "new to me" so it's like discovering a lost tv series. Obviously the character is sanitized for TV but Richard Roundtree still brings the charisma - and it's got a lot of gritty NYC location shooting
    and I'm always primed to see 70s NYC street shots - and combine that with the Shaft theme song thrown in it does a great job of bringing that 70s vibe.

willy likes this.
  2. Comet01

Comet01 Forum Resident

I have no recollection of that show.

3. tommy-thewho

tommy-thewho Senior Member

I remember the movie but not the show.

4. smilin ed

smilin ed Senior Member

I remember a Mad Magazine spoof that referred to the show as 'Shafted.'

5. LeBon Bush

LeBon Bush Hound of Love

It's quite cool, actually - the blu ray of the movie has the first episode as a bonus feature. Highly entertaining 70s crime television in my book :righton:

6. Jay_Z

Jay_Z Forum Resident

The Shaft TV show was part of The New CBS Tuesday Night Movies. It rotated with Hawkins (Jimmy Stewart as a rural lawyer) and random made for TV movies in the same time slot.