SL-1200 + Zu DL-103 = which headshell?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by E-Rock, May 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. E-Rock

E-Rock I Got a Rock Thread Starter

Quick update - for those who saw my previous thread (see link below), I've decided to stick with the SL-1200!

http://stevehoffman.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=147780

Now, all of this recent talk about the Zu DL-103 really convinced me to do two things:

1) get a decent phono stage
    2) try the Zu!

So, I just bought a used Dynavector P-75 (first version), and I plan on ordering the Zu shortly! :goodie:

The question is, with the stock SL-1200 arm, which headshell should I use to mount the Zu? The stock Technics? Or, would I get better results with, say, a Sumiko HS-12 or LP Gear Zupreme? I ask because these two particular headshells have more mass than the stock Technics, and I'm a relative noob when it comes to compliance, arm mass, etc.

Please educate me! :)

2. Toka

Toka Active Member

More mass wouldn't hurt, just make sure you can balance it properly on the other end. The stock '1200 headshell is quite servicable but there are better options for sure.

3. Unless you are willing to spend a lot of time experimenting and tinkering.... with no assurances that you will eventually get acceptable results, start with the stock SL-1200 headshell. Later, if you are not satisfied with the results, you can always try another option.

However, my educated guess is that you will not be able to improve on the stock headshell.

HG

4. OcdMan

OcdMan Senior Member

From all that I've read, good choices with both the Dynavector phono stage and Zu cartridge. :thumbsup: