SME3009 II Tone Arm Question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by WillytheWoofer, Dec 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WillytheWoofer

WillytheWoofer Forum Resident Thread Starter

Dear music friend. I presume you are all serieus listeners. That's why I have a question;
    My arm SME3009 II improved with detachable headshell is a little to light for the MC Goldring Legacy. Will a heavier arm bring more sound quality?
    The table is a Thorens TD124. The rest costs new a few times 10.000
    Thanks for your help in front.
    Wil (The Netherlands)

2. AnalogJ

AnalogJ Hearing In Stereo Since 1959

It's about optimal tracking, which affects the sound. More at the frequency extremes than in the midrange.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2017
  3. WillytheWoofer

Dear music friends. I am a pro musician/teacher/conducter with little technical knowledge.
    I finally found out after three cartridges and two phono amps, why the turntable didn't sound good.
    The platter had no ground wire to the phono amp.
    I am so happy with that, that I bought Art Blakey - The jazz messengers at 45 rpm. And I must say it sounds very good. Also STS records sound very good now as Patricia Barber 33rpm pressed at two records.

My arm SME3009 II improved with detachable headshell is a little to light for the MC Goldring Legacy. Will a heavier arm bring more sound quality? The table is a Thorens TD124. The rest costs new a few times 10.000.

Digital playback is done by a computer and a Weiss Dac2 and sounds great. Even "normal" cd's sound great. Good high ress beets them off course.

So in short: what will bring a more heavy arm? Thanks for your help in front.

Thanks for your help in front.
    Wil (The Netherlands)

4. Mike from NYC

Mike from NYC Senior Member

I had that problem with the Hana SH so I bought a heavier headshell and the problem was solved. I have the exact same arm.

5. stuwee

stuwee Forum Resident