So what sounds then better Mono or Stereo?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by The Good Guy, Sep 21, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Good Guy

The Good Guy Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello music people

Thanks to the Beatles Mono LP reissues & Steve Hoffmann mentioning using Y Cables (the rest of you are not bothering or have dedicated Mono cartridge or Mono switching on their Amp) , I have been listening to pure Mono since 1979 (my Parents Bush valve auto changer ). As promised a solid middle & records have more punch. An absence of screechy surface noise is welcome .

I confess Mono is easier to get on with but what sounds better Mono or Stereo? Like most people Despite hearing Mono from birth to 11 I am used to stereo . I am now 47.

People with genuine Mono experience please reply

Thank You.

2. Schoolmaster Bones

Schoolmaster Bones Poe's Lawyer

Stereo is better.

acdc7369, quicksrt and Pinknik like this.
  3. nm_west

nm_west Forum Resident

I like both.

Licorice pizza likes this.
  4. To me, stereo is way better than mono. The "problem" with stereo releases prior to 1969 is the extreme panning, which is great for a musician trying to figure out a song, but not as good for a band's "tightness" feel. But a well-made, clever, thoughtful and realistic stereo mix is the best listening experience (I mean, compared to mono).

P.S.: BTW, I'm also 47.

acdc7369 and jlc76 like this.
  5. Threshold

Threshold Well-Known Member

It depends. Some early stereo is downright hilarious. I have a Bobby Darrin song Artificial Flowers his voice starts on the left speaker as the song progresses his voice moves to 10 o'clock then to the middle then to the right speaker. Then it goes in the opposite direction. Ultimate musical Ping-Pong. I also have some Nat King Cole mono albums from the 50's just as good as any stereo record.

6. Burt

Burt Forum Resident