Sony UBP-x800 - DSD Question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dkmonroe, Nov 14, 2017.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

I just got a Sony UBP-x800 and it's fantastic except for one niggling problem, and I'd like to know if it's really a defect in the player or just a lack in my system. It won't output any sound when I set it to play DSD and not convert to PCM. My previous Sony Blu-ray player did appear to output DSD with no problem.

Here's the gear involved:

Current disc player: Sony UBP-x800, natch. Outputs stereo and multichannel SACD only when PCM option is selected.

Current receiver: Onkyo HT-R290.

Former Blu-ray player: Sony BDP-s5100. Outputs SACD in DSD, apparently.

Connection is HDMI.

When I would play SACD with the BDP-s5100, my receiver would display DSD as the format and it would play OK. Having hooked up the UDP-x800 and set it to output DSD, my receiver displays DSD as the format but there's no sound. If I change the player to convert to PCM, it plays perfectly.

So, what's the culprit here? Does this particular UDP-x800 have a glitch which prevents DSD output, or is my receiver perhaps not a true DSD receiver?

2. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

Well, it's interesting. The specs for the Sony imply that it can play DSD over HDMI only at 2.8MHz (single-rate DSD); double- and quad-rate files are converted to LPCM. Could this be the problem?

Sony UBP-X800 Spec Sheet - Page 6

Although, if the "DSD Output Mode" is set to "Auto" it should figure this out on its own. Note this description in the manual:

[Auto]: Outputs DSD signal from HDMI OUT jack when playing Super Audio CD & DSD format file (if the connected device also supports DSD).