speakers or turntable

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by cowboy, Nov 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cowboy

cowboy New Member Thread Starter

It's my first time on and here's the deal. I've been in a sort of stereo time warp for the last 20 years while raising kids,wrapped up in career, etc. Kids are now off to college, the house is quite once again, and I'm re-discovering my love for music and stereo equipment. I want to start to up-grade. I have a Thorens TD 115 turntable, McIntosh C28, McIntosh MC502 amp, and McIntosh Stereotech Model 2 speakers, all bought new in the mid to late '70s. Where would I hear the biggest improvement, speakers or turntable. I'm looking at a VPI Scout or Klipsch RF7's. I've learned a bunch the last few months reading all the discussions at this site. Thanks everybody.

2. PMC7027

PMC7027 Forum Hall Of Fame

Do you listen to digital (CD, SACD, or DVD-A)? I ask because if you listen to digital, new speakers might improve the sound of all of your sources, while a new TT only improves the sound of your vinyl.

3. AKA-Chuck G

AKA-Chuck G Senior Member

I think speaker technology has evolved the most. Check out NHT SB3 speakers and listen to others as well. I am not that familiar with the TD 115 model but Thorens are solid from the era. Go for speakers first.

4. cowboy

I don't have a digital source right now. I'm a vinyl junkie all the way.

5. vinyl anachronist

vinyl anachronist Senior Member

I'd say start with the turntable. You can make more profound differences with the sound by changing the speakers, but the TT is the front end, the source, the beginning of it all. Garbage in, garbage out, etc. A great analog front-end with so-so speakers will sound better than a so-so front-end with great speakers (that'll just reveal the flaws more).

6. 51nocaster

51nocaster Senior Member