'Star Wars' Braintrust Plots Leia's Life After Carrie Fisher's Death

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by BeatleJWOL, Jan 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeatleJWOL

BeatleJWOL Carnival of Light enjoyer... IF I HAD ONE Thread Starter

'Star Wars' Braintrust Sets Meeting to Plot Leia's Life After Carrie Fisher's Death »

We shall see. Sounds messy.

2. Quadboy

Quadboy Forum Resident

Gonna be difficult for them as I mentioned previously (and highlighted above) concerning future scenes with Ren in IX.

3. neo123

neo123 Senior Member

head_unit, mmars982 and EddieVanHalen like this.
  4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Unless by some serendipitous circumstance they've already filmed Carrie's scenes for the next movie, I think they're going to have to go full Dumbledore and re-cast the role. Or just write her out of it entirely.

5. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Yovra likes this.
  6. Squealy

Squealy Forum Hall Of Fame

They have. Episode IX is the issue... as well as changes they may have to make to episode VIII to lead into that.

dkmonroe likes this.
  7. mx20

mx20 Enthusiast

I'm sure Disney execs are weighing public acceptance of their recent CGI actors in Rogue One. In case any of them are reading these words: DON'T DO IT! Don't create CGI closeups of famous faces for your space opera movies! It looks terrible!

Classicolin, lbangs, tmtomh and 3 others like this.
  8. will_b_free

will_b_free Forum Resident

Recasting is the traditional way to go, and they should honor it. Recasting is fine.

Give another actor a chance. Another actor might be able to do the character more justice than Fisher herself was able to do.

Bearing in mind that I haven't seen her scenes from the next film, it seemed that in The Force Awakens Abrams gave her only a few brief lines, and she managed to pull them off - but with difficulty. She had trouble speaking.