Steve: curious question about Beatles "White Album"

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by ascot, May 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ascot

ascot Senior Member Thread Starter

Steve, I have been lurking around this board for many months and I finally have something to ask! This is out of curiousity only.

If you had the opportunity to remaster the White Album, and you got to "Revolution 9", how do you think you would approach something like that?

I am no expert on how a disc was mastered, so I won't even speculate how EMI transferred it. I just know I hear a lot of hiss and a scratchiness in the panned effects/voices that I've read came from the mixing board.

If you apply the "breath of life" to it, does it turn into the "kiss of death" when played backwards? :D

I appreciate your thoughts on this unique entry in the Beatles' catalog.

Thanks!

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Hi Ascot,

Thanks for posting!

Rev. #9 is what it is. I'd just transfer it straight and let the noise fall where it may!

3. Ronflugelguy

Ronflugelguy Resident Trumpet Geek

Steve, Good answer!

4. nashreed

nashreed New Member

I've always wondered...what does "Revolution 9" sound like on the original mono lp?
    I can't imagine.:confused: Anybody?

Thanks.
    nashreed

5. Steve Hoffman

It sounds the same to me.

Luke might know if it's a "fold-down" of the stereo or not.

It seems like doing a mono AND stereo mix of this thing would result in two TOTALLY different versions, with different loops coming in at different times, with the result that the mixes would be sounding nothing like each other.

That's why I think the mono is a fold-down of the stereo version.

6. Uncle Al

Uncle Al Senior Member