Looking for Elvis Presley recording session contracts

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Daryl, Nov 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daryl

Daryl Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi guys and gals,

One of the things I have been doing for the last several years is researching and collecting scans / photocopies of recording session contracts pertaining to Elvis Presley's recording sessions both at Sun and RCA Victor. These would include both the American Federation of Musicians or Memphis Federation of Musicians (Sun era recordings), the Orchestra Manager's Reports (Motion Picture Soundtracks) and American Federation of Television and Radio Artists contracts (backup vocalists and Elvis' vocal contract). My focus is strictly on the years 1954-1977. I do have some posthumous session contracts such as the AFTRA contracts for the 1981 "Guitar Man" album, the 1982 "Elvis Medley" album, the 1983 "I Was The One" album and the AFM contracts for the 1981 soundtrack album "This Is Elvis," but for the most part I try to stay within the 1954-1977 scope.

That said, I'm not concerned too much whether the contract I have is redacted or not. I have some that are and others that are not. It doesn't bother me as long as the contract isn't redacted to the point where the pertinent information cannot be discerned (Studio and studio location, session hours and date, song titles, musicians' names and instruments, etc.). One other point I want to be clear about. I am not looking for copies of the RCA recording pages. I have these already and while they are nice, they really don't have much information in some instances, as far as the musicians, session date and hours and studio. One example is the motion picture soundtracks. In most cases the RCA recording pages were derived whenever RCA acquired the tapes from the motion picture company. In many cases, this was several months after the sessions had already been completed.