Suggestions for Budget Integrated Amp and Pre-Amp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by MRJones, Jul 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MRJones

MRJones New Member Thread Starter

Although I've been a music fan my entire life, I'm just getting into building my first high quality system. I'm more interested in vinyl (thanks to my father's huge collection of 50s and 60s LPs and 45s) than CDs and digital music, though I do have a sizable number of both. I'm currently running a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC Esprit with an acrylic platter and Ortofon 2M Red cartridge through a 1995 Technics SU-G75 integrated amp and Pioneer SP-BS22-LR bookshelf speakers. I'm looking to ditch the Technics amp and buy either a good integrated amp with a phone stage or add a pre-amp if needed. After stalking the forums for awhile and not finding the exact information I want, I thought I would open my own thread for suggestions and advice. I would prefer to spend no more than $800 on both pieces (or less and use the leftover money to buy some quality interconnects).

A few pieces of hardware that I have seen regularly:

Amps with Phono Stage
    • Marantz PM6005
    • PS Audio Sprout
    Amps without Phono Stage
    • NAD C3xxBEE series
    • NAD D 3020
    • Cambridge Azur x51A series
    Pre-Amps
    • Cambridge Azur x51P series
    • Yaqin MS-23B (tube amp)
    • Pro-Ject Phone Box
    I'm open to any and all suggestions from folks on the forum who are more versed in all this stuff I am. I hope to be able to return the favor to another newbie someday. Thanks in advance!

2. vudicus

vudicus Forum Resident

• Marantz PM6005
    Great bit of kit for very little money.

Jonboy, MRJones and Johnny Vinyl like this.
  3. I'll second the Marantz PM6005 as well. In fairness, I'm not familiar enough with the other IA's to recommend them, but surely some will.