The 1986-1987 Impulse CD Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Feelflows, Jun 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Feelflows

Feelflows New Member Thread Starter

Having searched the forums a number of times, I found an Impulse on CD thread discussing the 1986 MCA CD releases, but it was quite old, and not the happiest place on earth. I thought I'd reorganize the information presented by various forum members into a handy guide. Odds are that most of our North American forum members aren't going to run into a lot of 32XD Jazz titles in the bins, but the early MCAs turn up often enough. It's good to know what titles are worth looking at.

In 1986, MCA released a number Impulse Jazz of titles for the North American market, with CDs pressed at JVC Japan. I have been collecting these discs for a few years now and have managed to turn up quite a few. In 1987 MCA released another batch of (??) titles for the North American market- at least 10, pressed at various locations- including Sanyo Japan, PDO West Germany, Cinram, JVC & Sanyo USA. At least, it seems this way...forum member J.A.W. mentioned that it seemed that each year's releases had a certain prefix: MCA-58XX for '87, the MCAD-56XX/JVC-4XX for '86. This certainly seems to be the case. Roland compiled a great list of existing titles from various Internet sources. I've bolded titles not on Roland's original list that I've found in the bins. Titles I own are in red:

MCAD-5541 / DIDX-204 John Coltrane - From the Original Master Tapes

MCAD-5656 / JVC-457 Count Basie - Count Basie and the Kansas City 7
    MCAD-5655 / JVC-458 Sonny Rollins - Sonny Rollins on Impulse!
    MCAD-5653 / JVC-459 Gil Evans - Out of the Cool
    MCAD-5651 / JVC-460 Benny Carter and His Orchestra - Further Definitions
    MCAD-5650 / JVC-461 Duke Ellington/Coleman Hawkins - Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins
    MCAD-5649 / JVC-462 Charles Mingus - The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady