The insane ‘Happening’ Salvador Dalí wanted to do for Aphrodite’s Child in 1972 *

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by delmonaco, Jul 29, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. delmonaco

delmonaco Forum Resident Thread Starter

2. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

Man, that Dali cat was seriously wigged out! Awesome story.

delmonaco likes this.
  3. delmonaco

There's also some interesting additional info in the commentaries beyond the article.

action pact likes this.
  4. Dondy

Dondy Forumaniac

Wacky! The desription of the event sounds exactly like one of his paintings - and may have been brilliant as such. :)

delmonaco likes this.
  5. Steel Horse

Steel Horse Forum Resident

Way to go, Dali...

6. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I was stunned by the article's apparent claim that 666 sold "20 million copies." I followed the links and the original article actually claims that Aphrodite's Child as a group sold 20 million albums in 5 years. However, this still seems hilariously over-inflated to me.

Dali's "event plan" was so nuts I don't know whether to laugh or shake my head.

7. delmonaco

I don't think that they sold so many albums, possibly this is their total sales figure (singles, EPs and albums). Anyway, this is not so important - their contract with Philips back then was so unfair, that even if they sold billions, they didn't gain a single coin from the recording sales. This is the main reason that, despite being very successful, they split after just 3 years of existence.

dkmonroe likes this.
  8. Bruno Republic

Bruno Republic Forum Resident