The Rolling Stones - "Jumpin' Jack Flash" restored promo film / 50th anniversary

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by C6H12O6, May 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C6H12O6

C6H12O6 Senior Member Thread Starter

Apparently this song was released in the UK 50 years ago today. Just stumbled upon this Facebook upload, and it looks like a full HD restoration of the original promo film (though various cuts of this film circulate):

It sounds like the vocal is live too whereas the backing track is probably from the studio recording. Notice that there's no fade, they film until the backing track performance comes to a stop.

2. Billy_Sunday

Billy_Sunday ... formerly ThirdBowl

Almost as old as me! ha ha. What a great video, don't think I've ever seen it before.

C6H12O6 likes this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Awesome! Would like to see a restored version of the other one where the whole band is playing live.

....at least I THINK they're playing live! :laugh:

Purple Jim likes this.
  4. C6H12O6

C6H12O6 Senior Member Thread Starter

First time I saw it (or even knew about it) was in that "Crossfire Hurricane" documentary that they commissioned for the band's 50th anniversary, so it may have been originally restored for that.

5. TonyCzar

TonyCzar Forum Resident

I've heard an alternate vocal on this vid plenty of times before, but not this PARTICULAR alternate vocal, I don't think. (Haven't watched "Crossfire Hurricane", so maybe it's not news to anybody else....).

[Edit: Okay, that "Bop, bop" vocal hiccup at -2:02 is definitely news to me. Thx.]
    [Edit2: As is that long organ outro!!]

I have the "Crossfire Hurricane" Blu-Ray. Should I open it and watch?

Last edited: May 24, 2018
    Jimmy B. and Rupe33 like this.
  6. vudicus

vudicus Forum Resident

For years I never noticed the JJ on his forehead.

Zack likes this.
  7. Arnold Grove

Arnold Grove Senior Member

Directed by Michael Lindsay-Hogg.