The Separation

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by RZangpo2, Nov 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RZangpo2

RZangpo2 Forum Know-It-All Thread Starter

After fifteen years of trying to make it work, my wife and I have agreed to a separation. No, neither of us is moving out of the house. I'm moving the stereo out of the living room.

When my wife met and married me, I was a law student, and my stereo was in storage. When we first set up housekeeping, we had a conversation something like this. Me: "Hmm... Well, the only place for the speakers is in front of this wall" [indicating prime living room real estate]. Her: "Really? Why not put them in the corners?" Me [trying to stay calm]: "Well, that really wouldn't work, honey, because [insert long-winded explanation]." Her: "Oh. Well, I could always put this couch in between them." Me [trying to stay calm]: "Well, that really wouldn't work, honey, because [insert long-winded explanation]." Repeat with minor variations. Coda: Her: "Oh, you and your stupid stereo!"

Once we were given some sterling silver religious articles as a gift and she put them on top of the stereo, "To show that it's sacred," she said.

The last straw came a few days ago, when she wanted to place a coffee table smack in the listening position. Me [trying to stay calm]: "Well, that really wouldn't work, honey, because [insert long-winded explanation]." My mother happened to be visiting, and intervened. Mom: "You mean you to have to be sitting in that exact spot to listen to your music?" Me: "Well, yes, because [insert long-winded explanation]." Mom: "You know, if you moved the speakers a few inches closer to the wall, you would have room to fit your listening chair in front of the coffee table." Me [trying to stay calm]: "Well, that really wouldn't work, Mom, because [insert further long-winded explanation]." Mom [with a look of gathering horror on her face]: "You're crazy!"