Tidal - not all "HiFi" music is Lossless

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Jeff_Likes_To_Listen, May 7, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jeff_Likes_To_Listen

Jeff_Likes_To_Listen Active Member Thread Starter

I'm new to Tidal. Most of what I've listen to sounds really good and I like the service! However, I've found a number of titles (mostly older releases) stream at a lowly 96kbps AAC. I'm streaming with Audirvana plus 3 set to "HiFi/Master Lossless FLAC". Most titles come in at FLAC 16/44.100 but look at these:

A Tribute to John Hartford - Live from Mountain Stage - 96 kbps 16/22.0 kHz
    Preservation Hall Jazz Band - New Orleans Preservation, Vol 1 -96 kbps 16/22.0 kHz

Perhaps that is all the labels supplied Tidal with..... disappointing.

2. arglebargle

arglebargle Forum Resident

Yeah, I'm always disappointed to see the low quality indicator when streaming Tidal through Roon. Thankfully it's rare enough, although sometimes an artist with a deep catalog I love turns out to be less than cd quality and that is indeed disappointing . Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan is one I remember. Not sure what can be done just wanted to say, you're not alone! As you say, I think it comes down to the labels.

3. motionoftheocean

motionoftheocean Senior Member

Thread title is misleading as lower bitrate streams on Tidal do not show up as "HiFi"

Billy Infinity and Galley like this.
  4. Jeff_Likes_To_Listen

Just made another observation- When using the Tidal application (mac desktop) The word "HiFi" in the lower left corner does not light up when the track is less than Lossless.

5. Jeff_Likes_To_Listen

The Thread title is based on the fact that when you pay for the higher "HiFi/Lossless" subscription on Tidal, one expects lossless streaming on all tracks, not just on some/most.

6. delmonaco

delmonaco Forum Resident