Time Consuming Steps - Digitizing Vinyl ?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by jtw, Aug 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jtw

jtw Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi All! I have never done any analog to digital conversions of any type, so I'm a total rookie.

I spend a few months a year at a vacation home. When I'm there, I actually welcome any kind of 'busy' work. Ripping vinyl seems to fit the bill, but I don't want to transport my good turntable and 4 big boxes of albums for 3 days each way.

I could rip raw files to Audicity while at my main home, then take the hard drive to the vacation home, and do any clean up and file manipulation there. But what is the actual percentage of time of the raw ripping process and file manipulation for the total process? 80/20? 50/50?

Thanks

2. jbmcb

jbmcb Forum Resident

Depends on how much post processing you want to do and, if it's a lot, how much you want to spend on software that can do it for you.

I record at 44.1/16 to Audacity, then manually copy and paste each song into a seperate track, then save it off as FLAC. The most time consuming part is doing the id3 work, which I also do manually using mp3tag. I don't do any hiss or pop removal, or normalization or anything. Total time of post-processing per record side is around 10 minutes.

I know guys who manually remove pops using izotope, along with companding where necessary and re-eq'ing if the recording is too bright or otherwise flat. They do all this at 96KHz/24-bit then dither to CD quality when they are done. They scan in the artwork and make custom CD slipcases, etc... It probably takes them an entire day for a single record. It's their hobby, so, you know, whatever floats your boat :)

c-eling and jtw like this.
  3. rodentdog

rodentdog Senior Member

I used to use Audio Cleaning Lab to do this. You can remove pops/clicks, add metadata and save as a .wav file.

arisinwind likes this.
  4. c-eling