Toeing-in headphones

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Wally Swift, Feb 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wally Swift

Wally Swift Yo-Yoing where I will... Thread Starter

Normally when I use my headphones [Monoprice DJ8323] I just place them on my head in a way that feels comfortable. Just a short while ago I started playing with them while listening to a Nektar album and discovered that by turning the cups so that there is more pressure against my head towards the back of the cup and less pressure towards the front the SQ was significantly improved. More clarity and detail. I'm rather surprised that this minor adjustment makes such a big difference!

A timely discovery too as I'm going to demo some better headphones later in the week.

2. Vidiot

Vidiot Now in 4K HDR!

I understand there's a new audiophile accessory to surgically shave down the sides of your head so that headphones will fit better. They add a green ink ring during the process, so everything sounds more detailed and precise, too. $99.95 at Earl Scheib.

3. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

Pressing on the back of the cup may have created a better seal. Getting a good seal with the ear pads does affect the overall sound. Getting a good seal around the bottom of the ear near the jaw can be a problem for some headphones depending on your jaw line and head shape. Pressing on the back of the cup may have sealed that area for you.

More headphones now are using a wedge shaped ear pad. Where the pad is thicker behind the ear and thinner in front of the ear. Look at the Audeze headphones as an example. That gets the driver to be more in line with your outer ear. Seems to help get the sound to seem it is slightly more in front of you.